Frog Feast: CD-i version now available at oldergames.com!

Anything relating to CD-i can be discussed in this forum. From the multiple hardware iterations of the system to the sofware including games, reference, music and Video CDs. Maybe you hold an interest in Philips Media and the many development houses set up to cater for CD-i if so then this is the forum.
User avatar
OlderGames
Fish Head
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:46 pm
Location: Moreno Valley, California. USA.
Contact:

Frog Feast: CD-i version now available at oldergames.com!

Post by OlderGames » Tue Jul 31, 2007 8:34 pm

Hello everybody,

I'm still in Vegas with the team and am writing you from my
hotel room at the Flamingo Hotel & Casino to let you know that
we have now enabled ordering for frog feast (cd-i version) at our
online store. We still have plenty of copies left from CGE2K7 and
all orders wil ship this weekend!

For more info: http://www.oldergames.knurdz.com/news.php?aid=18

User avatar
Devin
CDinteractive Admin
Posts: 2153
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 1:51 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Devin » Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:36 pm

Great stuff! Hows the weather?

It's actually pretty damned good here in the UK ATM... for a change :D

User avatar
cdoty
Frog Feast Dev
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:35 am
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:34 am

Devin wrote:Great stuff! Hows the weather?

It's actually pretty damned good here in the UK ATM... for a change :D
I'm in Ottawa for a couple of days, and it's pretty hot here also. Coming to the Great White North, I would expect it would be a bit cooler.
Visit RasterSoft on facebook or visit the website.

User avatar
Bas
CDinteractive Admin
Posts: 3041
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:14 am
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Bas » Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:39 pm

Gamgator offers Frog Feast right here

And he posts "PLEASE READ: This title will not play back on Philips model CDI490 players!"

Hi Charles. What's this about? The Demo I played works fine on my 490.

User avatar
Devin
CDinteractive Admin
Posts: 2153
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 1:51 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Devin » Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:11 am

Maybe an NTSC/PAL issue? Did the demo work for you GATOR?

User avatar
Bas
CDinteractive Admin
Posts: 3041
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:14 am
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Bas » Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:26 pm

I remember Charles mentioning some multiplayer issues on players that require the splitter (the 4xx series that don't have a second controlle rport on board).

But I thought everything was working, according to his blog!

User avatar
cdoty
Frog Feast Dev
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:35 am
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Tue Aug 14, 2007 5:29 am

Bas wrote:And he posts "PLEASE READ: This title will not play back on Philips model CDI490 players!"

Hi Charles. What's this about? The Demo I played works fine on my 490.
The game wasn't tested on a US CD-i 470, due to a problem reading CD-Rs.

I do know it was tested on a Magavox CD-i 550 and a Philips CD-450. These units both use the Roboco board, which is supposed to be the same chipset as the CD-i 470/490. I would guess there is some other problem with the CD-i 490.
Bas wrote:I remember Charles mentioning some multiplayer issues on players that require the splitter (the 4xx series that don't have a second controlle rport on board).
This was based on some information posted by CD-i Fan. From what I gathered, the only time a splitter won't work is if there are already two ports on the unit.

The only problem I noted was using a mouse on the CD-i 450. But, this was also a problem with Rise of the Robots.
Last edited by cdoty on Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Visit RasterSoft on facebook or visit the website.

User avatar
GAMGATOR2000
Softech Recruit
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 5:24 am
Location: PHOENIX AZ

Tested by: RW, Gator and John . . .

Post by GAMGATOR2000 » Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:37 am

Hello Devin & gang . . . :roll:

We tested the CD's sold at CGE2K7 and they did not work on three different CDI490 players I had for sale.
I did not have any problems playing them on:
CDI220, CDI910 & Radio Shack 910 Clone, CDI350 as well as the SONY portable I sold.
RW was to look into the brand of CD's they used . . . I've not heard back from him since CGE2K7 . . .

So, to cover my REAR, I added the "Not for CDI490" for now.

gamgator2000 out . . .
:twisted:

Devin wrote:Maybe an NTSC/PAL issue? Did the demo work for you GATOR?

User avatar
cdoty
Frog Feast Dev
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:35 am
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Tested by: RW, Gator and John . . .

Post by cdoty » Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:46 am

GAMGATOR2000 wrote:We tested the CD's sold at CGE2K7 and they did not work on three different CDI490 players I had for sale.
Were they not recognized as CD-i disks?

If they were recognized, did they not startup, or have some problem before or during the game?

Have you tried any other CD-R disks on any of these systems?

Any information you can provide will be greatly appreciated.
Visit RasterSoft on facebook or visit the website.

User avatar
Bas
CDinteractive Admin
Posts: 3041
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:14 am
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Bas » Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:31 pm

Do I see here the cause is just a low quality CD-R Oldergames used for publishing? The test version of Frog Feast runs perfect on my 490 player (brand: Philips (tssk)) - How could the game itself go wrong if the demo runs fine?

User avatar
cdoty
Frog Feast Dev
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:35 am
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:46 pm

Bas wrote:Do I see here the cause is just a low quality CD-R Oldergames used for publishing? The test version of Frog Feast runs perfect on my 490 player (brand: Philips (tssk)) - How could the game itself go wrong if the demo runs fine?
The game does use real time files and sounds. Small changes were made in the display code, but it hasn't affected any other cd-i player. The point of failure should tell a lot.

Is the CD-i 490 sensitive to CD-R's?
Visit RasterSoft on facebook or visit the website.

User avatar
Bas
CDinteractive Admin
Posts: 3041
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:14 am
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Bas » Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:52 pm

I've used several brands of CD-R's and I never had any problems. Well, time will tell, number 34 is reaching The Netherlands soon ;)

User avatar
cdifan
CD-i Emulator Author
Posts: 913
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 6:19 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by cdifan » Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:17 pm

Wanna swap? I got number 38...

Who has number 1?

User avatar
cdoty
Frog Feast Dev
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:35 am
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Wed Aug 15, 2007 2:58 am

cdifan wrote:Who has number 1?
Number 1 was auction off at CGE.
Visit RasterSoft on facebook or visit the website.

User avatar
GAMGATOR2000
Softech Recruit
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 5:24 am
Location: PHOENIX AZ

Re: Tested by: RW, Gator and John . . .

Post by GAMGATOR2000 » Wed Aug 15, 2007 5:21 am

Hello! Answers Below! :shock:

gamgator2000 out . . . :twisted:
cdoty wrote:
GAMGATOR2000 wrote:We tested the CD's sold at CGE2K7 and they did not work on three different CDI490 players I had for sale.
Were they not recognized as CD-i disks? NO!

If they were recognized, did they not startup, or have some problem before or during the game? DISC's Never Started Up (also tried Auto Play from Menu)

Have you tried any other CD-R disks on any of these systems? YES! (RW's PlunderBall also did not work on the CDI490's)

Any information you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Post Reply