fixing common problems of CDI players

If you encounter any problems with your CD-i system or have difficulty operating some software for CD-i then post your problems here. With help from the CD-i community and the vast resources hosted on the CDinteractive network we should be able to solve any trouble your experiencing.
XCLTempesT
Karmic Church Disciple

fixing common problems of CDI players

Post by XCLTempesT » Fri May 01, 2009 12:37 pm

I think it could be helpful to add a topic with (links to) howto guides for fixing common problems with cdi players (I hope you agree :-).

I have some experience with cdi players, so the next few paragraphs would be my personal advise. If anyone has more simple solutions, or more information to add, please do. Also if you find that my English has errors, or something isn't clear in this guide, please contact me (personal message), and I'll try to fix it

In my experience there are 3 common problems with CDI players

-the loading belt of the CDI drive is made of rubber, and that decays overtime. This causes the loading tray to not close fully. You need to push the tray inside in order for the disc to be loaded. The solution is buying a new rubber belt. This costs someting like 1 euro at a shop that sells elektronic parts, or you pay $10,- on eBay with instructions (could be helpful, I don't know, I didn't buy it) .
Also a very common "problem" is that the CD tray makes squeaking noises when opening or closing. This is mostly caused when the grease under the front wheels of the loading system is becoming old. Removing the wheel and adding some grease solves the problem.
Here is a video of me fixing a CDI-210 player:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7mJTZo0dlYo