portable cdi + battery dead

If you encounter any problems with your CD-i system or have difficulty operating some software for CD-i then post your problems here. With help from the CD-i community and the vast resources hosted on the CDinteractive network we should be able to solve any trouble your experiencing.
User avatar
Bas
CDinteractive Admin
Posts: 3038
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:14 am
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

portable cdi + battery dead

Post by Bas » Mon Oct 31, 2005 9:46 pm

What are the options when you have a portable cd-i player (350, 370...) but your battery is dead? Can you replace it, buy another one, recharge it, make your own one....

What are the options?

User avatar
Ruekov
Karmic Church Disciple
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 10:38 am
Location: Lleida, Spain
Contact:

Re: portable cdi + battery dead

Post by Ruekov » Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:56 pm

Options:

1.- McGyver: some times the battery was spending energy beacuse their acids are old. Put your batteries in a fridge or freezer some hours and after the batterys will work more than before!

2.- Realist: found the specifications of this battery and search one of similar (or make a adaptator to this new).

User avatar
Devin
CDinteractive Admin
Posts: 2153
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 1:51 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Devin » Tue Nov 01, 2005 12:54 am

If only the McGyver option would work, that'd save alot of hassle!!

I think it was Calypso who did some work in this area Bas, he'd be the guy in the know.
Image
Sol Cutter: "I don't think you've acquired the marketed range!"

User avatar
Philipscdi.com
CD-i Site Admin
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 10:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Philipscdi.com » Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:46 am

There is a guy in Antwerp who can open the battery pack you currently have, and put in new rechargeables, so that you can continue to use the same battery pack. If you're really interested, I could look up his number for you.

greenday
Burn:Cycle Activated
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 10:51 am

Post by greenday » Tue May 02, 2006 11:45 am

HI there,

Im new to the forum but have the same problem with the bat for my 370.
Is there a website were i could buy a new 1 ?

User avatar
Bas
CDinteractive Admin
Posts: 3038
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:14 am
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Bas » Tue May 02, 2006 11:47 am

I'm not aware of any; the batteries are hard to come by...

WindowsKiller
Karmic Church Disciple
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 2:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by WindowsKiller » Tue May 02, 2006 8:15 pm

I don't have a 370, but doesn't it use an ordinary watch battery or something?

User avatar
Devin
CDinteractive Admin
Posts: 2153
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 1:51 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Devin » Tue May 02, 2006 8:38 pm

He's talking about the hulking great thing you slot onto the back for truly "Portable" capabilities :lol:
Image
Sol Cutter: "I don't think you've acquired the marketed range!"

greenday
Burn:Cycle Activated
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 10:51 am

Post by greenday » Wed May 03, 2006 9:55 am

Yep its the big beast of a thing thats stuck to the back.

I got the 370 off ebay for a bargain £10.50 the guy who listed it didnt have a clue. Shame really.

It came with the offical hard carry case remote control and is top condition. No scratches what so ever !!

Ive checked the memory and the last time it saved a game was 1999.

Now to get some games.

:lol:

WindowsKiller
Karmic Church Disciple
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 2:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by WindowsKiller » Wed May 03, 2006 10:21 am

Devin wrote:He's talking about the hulking great thing you slot onto the back for truly "Portable" capabilities :lol:
Oh, that one. :lol:

WindowsKiller
Karmic Church Disciple
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 2:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by WindowsKiller » Sat Nov 11, 2006 6:04 pm

Philipscdi.com wrote:There is a guy in Antwerp who can open the battery pack you currently have, and put in new rechargeables, so that you can continue to use the same battery pack.
Anyone ever tried that oneself? I've just won a 370 (for 33 Euro, still can't believe it, not to mention the 470 I won for 2 Euro a few days earlier...) and I'm quite sure that the battery is dead as well. I'll try to replace the cells, but maybe someone here already tried and can share some experience?

WindowsKiller
Karmic Church Disciple
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 2:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by WindowsKiller » Tue Nov 14, 2006 7:36 pm

Since I don't have the manual for the 370 and it's also not available from Philips, how does the battery charging works? When I plug in the power supply, the battery light goes on for about 10 seconds, then it starts to flash. Does the flashing indicate that the battery is charging or that the unit thinks that the battery is fully charged? I've left it in that state for about 8 hours, but the battery is still flat...

Anyway, refurbishing the battery seems to be quite easy. :) I haven't opened mine yet, but from what I see, there are 12 independent Ni-MH cells inside. Their size is standard, though not common. Now I have to find a way to open the battery without breaking the case...

User avatar
Devin
CDinteractive Admin
Posts: 2153
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 1:51 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Devin » Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:01 pm

Flashing LED means the battery is screwed. I found the case a real bitch to get open but I think Michiel had more success.

WindowsKiller
Karmic Church Disciple
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 2:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by WindowsKiller » Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:23 pm

Devin wrote:Flashing LED means the battery is screwed.
Wow, the 370 is that intelligent? :D I thought it would just try to charge forever.

The battery's case is definitely glued together. Seems like there's no other way than ripping the upper part off and rebuild it after the cells are replaced. :(

WindowsKiller
Karmic Church Disciple
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 2:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by WindowsKiller » Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:25 am

Finally cracked the battery. First surprise: The Philips label gives a capacity of 1650 mAh, but the accu pack inside says only 1500 mAh. :lol:

Image

More soon!

Post Reply